Everyone watches movies. It is considered a simple and innocent pastime of evenings, specially weekends. But is it really so? How innocent are the movies after all?
I love watching movies. Takes the thoughts off from the current problems of my miserable life. But how healthy are they actually. How many hours a day, a week, a month, a year does one spend watching tv and/or movies? I'm quite sure, my life contains years of watching movies, instead of hours. I have a huge collection of them, and I watch them over and over again. But what is the message that they send? After all, we are what we see, eat and hear. Everything around us affects us and our ways of thinking and living.
When I was about 11-13 years old, I started to read these books, that were probably not meant for my aged little girl. By that time, I had already watched every single Bond movie that there had been published (after all, their age limit is somewhere in 15). I specially got absorbed in fantasy novels written by David Eddings. They were imaginary and fun with action and all that a kid at that age would want. After reading all of his publishings by that time, I got somewhat scared and realized how bad all the fantasy books could be for a girl still growing, and quit that habit. But turned my attention to other books, which can't be said to have been much better, with all murders and 'soft porn'.
From that day on I didn't read any fantasy books, only watched a looooot of movies, which just may be fantasy or fiction, which is basically the same. It was not until about a year ago when I saw the Harry Potter movies that had been released so far. The first two didn't really impress me, but when I got to the third one, I was hooked. I watched all of them and read the books also. After Harry Potter I got absorbed in Eragon. Now that you start to think about it, along the years I actually couldn't stay away from the fantasy, but had been watching a lot of movies with nothing but fantasy in them. I've probably seen most of the well known fantasy characters on screen. Including all cartoon and novel characters; Batman, Superman, Spiderman, et. Zorro in a way is refreshingly normal, since in the original version, there is no superstitious acts, only a man with a lot of talent to stand up for the people.
What is then so wrong about fantasy? When you go to a bookstore or library to the fantasy section, you should automatically know that what you're about to buy or borrow is complete fiction with nothing realistic in them. What could be wrong in detaching yourself from the reality to fantasy and to forget your current problems?
Harry Potters are complained to be hazard and not recommendable books, among some Christians. The books are popular among children and also adults. But what are the effects of the book series? Every successful movie includes a lot of fan products and lots of sidekicks. People buy these to become their hero, their idol. Idol then again is, according to dictionary, an image of a divinity, false god, a representation or a symbol of a deity or any other being or thing made or used as an object of worship ( Webster's third new international dictionary, 1993). This is what makes it dangerous. Children with no guidance to any better idolize what they are allowed to see and watch. Adults with no firm believe in anything don't have direction of right and wrong, as long as the children obey them when needed, don't guide their children in any direction and don't warn them of any danger that may lie in believing fantasy. In America, I hear, in universities, they have started to play the game invented by Harry Potter's writer, Quidditch. Of course, in the books, this game would require flying, but since it is humanly impossible, they have somehow bypassed this little inconvenience. Also role playing is very popular. Specially in the UK children take a huge interest in Harry Potter role playing. But the question is, how healthy is role playing? A game where you identify as one of the character. And what is the point where too much is too much? When the children just imagine to be a which and use magic, or the point where they start to practice real magic with indifference to the consequences of their actions. After all, the world believes there is two kinds of magic, white and black, where black is the satanism and white is just ordinary, non-dangerous magic. There is no white or black magic. There is only magic which comes from the same source, the Devil.
I don't object to reading fantasy novels, as long as the reader knows where they stand; what is real and what is not, what is right and what is wrong, what can be done and what cannot be done. As long as they remember what is good and what is evil. Most of the people, even Christians, want to believe that you can choose to take some of this and some of that, but not that and not that. They do not realize that there isn't a third choice in the world. There is either God or Satan. There is no third field to choose from. You either choose God, or if you don't, you choose the Devil. So where does these passive Christians stand in? They do not take an interest in God, but not in Satan either. Isn't that exactly what the devil wants? He doesn't want to be the only one burning in hell. He takes as much people with him as he can, and those are the ones that don't keep their candles burning and take care where they are going. Those are the passive Christians who believe in God, but then again don't care about it.
The problem of the world is that they don't want to believe. The western culture has turned into paganism itself. At least the Muslims still believe in their cause. The Christians have forgotten what their's is. Their current believe is being good looking and rich and celebrity. People worship those who have money and power and undermine those who actually have lives and reason to life for.
This people worship is seeing in all of the fantasy movies. Their main point is, that because praying God doesn't bring answers, there is a human, with extraordinary powers, who can save the world from the evil. in Star Wars there is Luke Skywalker who 'has the power' to face his father 'Darth Vader' aka Anakin Skywalker and the Dark Lord, and defeats them and saves the universe. In Harry Potter there is Harry Potter, the young wizard, who has something else than what the rest has to defeat 'Voldemort' aka Tom Marvolo (or what ever) Riddle aka 'The one that must not be named'. In Eragon, there is this young boy, Eragon who finds a dragon egg that hatches to him and he receives powers through her to defeat the evil ruler Galbatorix. Also along the way he has to fight his brother he didn't know existed and his inheritance. In Lord of the Rings there is Frodo Bagings who has the unbelievable tolerance for the Ring and thus saves the world from the Eye. The list goes on forever. They are all claiming the same one thing. There is no God to believe in. The God we should worship is somewhere amongst us. No unseeing God can save us from the evil and terror on the planet. Only a man we can all see and worship can defeat the evilness of the world.
The storyline is old and used. And it is always based on the one and same story from the bible. Christ our savior was born on earth, a man amongst us came and defeated the evil. The only problem is, that the one and only savior has already been born. And he was born of God, not from human conceiving. And he died and rosed from the dead, and he lives on. Still the people don't believe it, and keep on creating new fictional characters to save themselves from the boredom and dullness of their lives. Boredom, as I have said to some of my friends, is a self inflicted state, where the person is not sensible enough to do anything. If you are bored, do something about it. The boredom is only in that one person, only because they don't do anything or have the sense to do anything.
[spoiler: if you haven't read the ending of Harry Potter and don't want me to spoil the ending for you, DON'T READ THIS CHAPTER]
The last book of Harry Potter ended much as I suspected it to end. I didn't see that there would be a horcrux inside the character, but I knew he would somehow be killed by Voldemort and still live to tell the tale, and have some sort of conversation with the already-dead Albus Dumbledore to explain the whole situation. This is the biggest reference to the bible that I have come across reading fantasy novels. The writer actually equalizes Harry Potter to God who was born on earth and died for the cause of all the people, as the main character does in the end of the book, and still rises 'from the dead' to save the day and kill Voldemort.
No wonder children these days don't believe in God nor want to read bible. Bible is after all, a very old book, which main plot everyone already knows, specially from the books they have already read, but without any excitement. The bible tries to give impression to follow Gods loving ways and teachings, but people these days are looking for violence and action. You can't find anything calming these days from the television. Everything is plotting against each others and killing or stealing from them. All the music is filled with hectic pulse and words of love which actually only indicate sexual conducts. Nobody believes in anything anymore. Fiction and fantasy is filling the heads of the children and boredom and nonsense the heads of the adults. There is something seriously wrong with this world.
Now is Christmas time, time of goodwill etc etc and time of Santa. How many actually realizes that when you rearrange the letters in Santa, you get Satan? People are worshiping the devil itself. A while ago I watched an episode of Bones and I learned a new meaning for Christmas. It is all about lying for the children. At Christmas time, it is okay, it is allowed, even recommended to lie to children, to make them happy and believe in things. This was said by an FBI agent (of course an actor) who was also acting a devoted catholic. What has happened to the ten commandments? All of those commandments are being broken and even recommended to be broken. What has this world come to?
/Mira
Killing animals
I've been brought up as a vegetarian. Still, as the majority of people believe, fish is included in the vegetarian diet. So, if you go during a flight or into a restaurant and order a vegetarian meal, the biggest probability is that you get fish or chicken. So what's the big joke about? Everybody eats meat, why not us too? There was a time when I ordered a pizza in a pizzeria, and wouldn't take it if it didn't have any tuna. Well, things can change. Many of you know that I tried to become a cook, but since my teacher was so against of a vegetarian getting to his class, he kind of dropped me off. I still studied in that school for a year, and during that time I started to decline all fish products. If today you offer me something to eat, any meat, dead or alive, I will decline.
So, I became a lacto-ovo-vegetarian. Meaning, I'm almost like a vegan, but I use milk products and chickens eggs. Of course, those who ask, yes, I do use honey. I won't refuse it just because some thinks it's only for bees. I'm crazy about cheese, so I can't refuse any offer of that. But other than that, I try to use as minimum as possible. Mainly, my motto is that I won't be responsible for killing any animals, and acting like animals and eating animals. I don't believe in the evolution theory which describes human to be as primal as any other creature on earth who just by a coincident happened to gain brains. I believe that we were created as human, creatures above the animals, to guard and guide them. Not to use them as our slaves and objects of greed and hunger. The earth and it's ecological system was created for us, to protect us and to provide us with basic needs. So therefore, if we have a working ecological surroundings, why do we have to stoop to slaughtering animals?
What is it then that most pisses me off with meat eating? In farms, they use cattle to feed themselves and it's been done years and years? Do I think that killing an animal is wrong? Am I against using leather clothes? What's wrong with me?
Well, I have black leather gloves. Then I'm guessing that I probably own some other leather things, but I don't make account of it. I've had discussions about not killing animals with friends and still I'm in the between. I kill flies when I see them. Ants, I hate ants. Every spring they try to invade our home. Not gonna happen as long as I live. So I kill bugs. How about animals? They breed and their number growths if no one does anything about them. I'm still formulating my answer to that question, but one thing I can tell you for certain: I do not except hunting in the near forest, nor any other forest. But why am I against it them, if I don't object wiping bugs out? After all, they are animals. From hunting we can make a bridge to my opinion on guns and other fire weapons, which I have been recently conversing in the messenger. Not going to go to that issue today.
The thing that pisses me off, is that no one cares. They go to a fast food restaurant or any other restaurant and order something delicious. The point is that they don't have to see how the food is prepared and made and what's actually inside it. They don't care. Fast food restaurants make food in an assembly line. Everyone gets the same portion with the same context. This way, the animals are also slaughtered in the same space. And if this equation is correct, then they also breed animals, meat, in the same assembly line. This world breed animals for one purpose only, which is to feed the not caring stupid people who haven't even seen a live cow. The chickens are brought up in a little boxed where they can't even see the sky or breath fresh air. Bigs are born in the same little cubicle where they live among their own shit, until they are escorted to the executioner and into people's plaits. People breed animals with a stake in mind. What has happened to this world? A lot of grain is cultivated, so that the animals they breed for a stake can eat and grow their muscles. The more muscle, the juicier stake. With the amount of grain harvested for the animals, we could feed the whole third world. And people still think there is a problem.
How many people actually know how a hamburger is made? When they fry the stakes, it sheds blood. This blood is not thrown away but frayed in the bun. How are frogs legs made? The legs are ripped off while the frog is still alive. Otherwise they'll be tenacious. How many know how a veal cutlet is made? They first have to wait that a cow gets pregnant. Then they wait for sometime, but not till the calf is born. They take the calf from it's mother's womb before it's born, since at that point it's still limp and workable and they cook it for the customers. It is created only to be chucked out too early and fed to rich people. Do you still wonder why I became totally against meat?
Why don't I approve of hunting? I have a couple of forests around here and I sometimes take walks to them. Once we were doing this with my mother and sister. There's a field between two forests and there is this little island in the middle of the field. We went to see how things look from there and we found this wooden built landing behind two trees. A perfect place for prey animals when they try to cross the field unharmed. They wait in there in the darkness, and shoot their victims, without anyone noticing where they are. I can't stand injustice against animals. I watch these animals when they run across the fields near to my home, in an attempt to escape and survive. I see them when they are there even without being chased.
Animals are animals. But what justifies human to stoop so low as to act like them? The animals maybe stupid for not understanding what is ahead of them, but then again that's how the world was created. So that the humans would think and take care of the earth. Humans were given brains for a reason and majority of people on earth refuses to use them. This world has turned into egocentric unfeeling selfish brothel where people search for a moments ecstasy. No one cares what happens to the neighbors and other people, so why should they start thinking of overly excessive production of meat. They don't even care what they eat, just as long its protein. But soy they won't try, not even in the face of starvation. Not even the threat of a mad cows decease seems to thrust some sense into people's heads that something is wrong. Not any bird deceases or anything else can get people to think. They decide to be stubborn and hide their heads in the sand.
So how are people actually taking care of this earth. By breeding, preying and slaughtering the animals, killing the jungle and dragging down the atmosphere so that this earth is unlivable.
So, I became a lacto-ovo-vegetarian. Meaning, I'm almost like a vegan, but I use milk products and chickens eggs. Of course, those who ask, yes, I do use honey. I won't refuse it just because some thinks it's only for bees. I'm crazy about cheese, so I can't refuse any offer of that. But other than that, I try to use as minimum as possible. Mainly, my motto is that I won't be responsible for killing any animals, and acting like animals and eating animals. I don't believe in the evolution theory which describes human to be as primal as any other creature on earth who just by a coincident happened to gain brains. I believe that we were created as human, creatures above the animals, to guard and guide them. Not to use them as our slaves and objects of greed and hunger. The earth and it's ecological system was created for us, to protect us and to provide us with basic needs. So therefore, if we have a working ecological surroundings, why do we have to stoop to slaughtering animals?
What is it then that most pisses me off with meat eating? In farms, they use cattle to feed themselves and it's been done years and years? Do I think that killing an animal is wrong? Am I against using leather clothes? What's wrong with me?
Well, I have black leather gloves. Then I'm guessing that I probably own some other leather things, but I don't make account of it. I've had discussions about not killing animals with friends and still I'm in the between. I kill flies when I see them. Ants, I hate ants. Every spring they try to invade our home. Not gonna happen as long as I live. So I kill bugs. How about animals? They breed and their number growths if no one does anything about them. I'm still formulating my answer to that question, but one thing I can tell you for certain: I do not except hunting in the near forest, nor any other forest. But why am I against it them, if I don't object wiping bugs out? After all, they are animals. From hunting we can make a bridge to my opinion on guns and other fire weapons, which I have been recently conversing in the messenger. Not going to go to that issue today.
The thing that pisses me off, is that no one cares. They go to a fast food restaurant or any other restaurant and order something delicious. The point is that they don't have to see how the food is prepared and made and what's actually inside it. They don't care. Fast food restaurants make food in an assembly line. Everyone gets the same portion with the same context. This way, the animals are also slaughtered in the same space. And if this equation is correct, then they also breed animals, meat, in the same assembly line. This world breed animals for one purpose only, which is to feed the not caring stupid people who haven't even seen a live cow. The chickens are brought up in a little boxed where they can't even see the sky or breath fresh air. Bigs are born in the same little cubicle where they live among their own shit, until they are escorted to the executioner and into people's plaits. People breed animals with a stake in mind. What has happened to this world? A lot of grain is cultivated, so that the animals they breed for a stake can eat and grow their muscles. The more muscle, the juicier stake. With the amount of grain harvested for the animals, we could feed the whole third world. And people still think there is a problem.
How many people actually know how a hamburger is made? When they fry the stakes, it sheds blood. This blood is not thrown away but frayed in the bun. How are frogs legs made? The legs are ripped off while the frog is still alive. Otherwise they'll be tenacious. How many know how a veal cutlet is made? They first have to wait that a cow gets pregnant. Then they wait for sometime, but not till the calf is born. They take the calf from it's mother's womb before it's born, since at that point it's still limp and workable and they cook it for the customers. It is created only to be chucked out too early and fed to rich people. Do you still wonder why I became totally against meat?
Why don't I approve of hunting? I have a couple of forests around here and I sometimes take walks to them. Once we were doing this with my mother and sister. There's a field between two forests and there is this little island in the middle of the field. We went to see how things look from there and we found this wooden built landing behind two trees. A perfect place for prey animals when they try to cross the field unharmed. They wait in there in the darkness, and shoot their victims, without anyone noticing where they are. I can't stand injustice against animals. I watch these animals when they run across the fields near to my home, in an attempt to escape and survive. I see them when they are there even without being chased.
Animals are animals. But what justifies human to stoop so low as to act like them? The animals maybe stupid for not understanding what is ahead of them, but then again that's how the world was created. So that the humans would think and take care of the earth. Humans were given brains for a reason and majority of people on earth refuses to use them. This world has turned into egocentric unfeeling selfish brothel where people search for a moments ecstasy. No one cares what happens to the neighbors and other people, so why should they start thinking of overly excessive production of meat. They don't even care what they eat, just as long its protein. But soy they won't try, not even in the face of starvation. Not even the threat of a mad cows decease seems to thrust some sense into people's heads that something is wrong. Not any bird deceases or anything else can get people to think. They decide to be stubborn and hide their heads in the sand.
So how are people actually taking care of this earth. By breeding, preying and slaughtering the animals, killing the jungle and dragging down the atmosphere so that this earth is unlivable.
Tilaa:
Kommentit (Atom)